Goto https://www.stucuk.netGoto https://www.atlanticaonlinewiki.comGoto https://www.game-requirements.comGoto https://www.owsupport.com
It is currently Sun Nov 29, 2020 1:53 pm

All times are UTC [ DST ]




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 33 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: Hey Stucuk...
PostPosted: Wed Sep 19, 2012 8:36 am 
Offline
OW Support Owner
OW Support Owner
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2005 11:13 pm
Posts: 5014
Location: UK, Scotland
ixtern wrote:
Wow! With the last version I can play whole first mission without any exceptions.

Thats because without FPUEXCEPT floating point errors are hidden.

ixtern wrote:
Hope that Dark Horizon soon will be de-bugged too

Tarr Chronicles and Dark Horizon share the same files (Except for one) but there is conditional bits of code which are only compiled into the EXE based on which game is being compiled. So its just a case of compiling Dark Horizon and it will have the same changes as Tarr has had.

Attached is Dark Horizon's 1.0.8.0 . You need to extract the LUA.rar to your Data folder and ustrings.rar to data\local\


Attachments:
2012-09-19_dark_horizon.rar [1.97 MiB]
Downloaded 125 times

_________________
Image
Free Map Editor - Game Requirements - Stucuk.Net
-Stu
Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Hey Stucuk...
PostPosted: Wed Sep 19, 2012 9:43 pm 
Offline
Soldier level 0
Soldier level 0

Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2012 7:51 pm
Posts: 28
Thanks for the new Dark Horizon version. Now I can also play it with -FORCEVELOCITY parameter.

I wonder why I cannot start game in dev mode - I always get the following error:

General Info
------------
Application : Dark Horizon
Filename : dark_horizon.exe
Version : 1.0.8.0

Params : -DEVMODE -FORCEVELOCITY
ParamCount : 2

System : empty_system
FPU State : pmExtended, rmNearest, exDenormalized, exUnderflow, exPrecision

Error Info
----------
ErrorText 0 : TCore.Run - Exception

Exception : Access violation at address 21372C4A in module 'playvideo.dll'. Read of address CDCDCDCD
EAddress : 21372C4A
ECode : -1073741819
EFlags : 2
EInfo (0) : 0
EInfo (1) : -842150451
GetLastError() : Operacja ukonczona pomyslnie.

And of course when I run both games with -FPUEXCEPT, I get FPU division by zero with the same address like always:
Exception : Floating point division by zero
EAddress : 00650037

In Tarr I get this error even in main menu, without starting any mission:
General Info
------------
Application : Tarr Chronicles
Filename : tarr.exe
Version : 1.0.8.0

Params : -FORCEVELOCITY -FPUEXCEPT
ParamCount : 2

System : empty_system
FPU State : pmSingle, rmNearest, exDenormalized, exUnderflow, exPrecision

Error Info
----------
ErrorText 0 : TCore.Run - Exception

Exception : Floating point division by zero
EAddress : 00650037
ECode : -1073741682
EFlags : 2
EInfo (0) : 0
GetLastError() : Operacja ukonczona pomyslnie.

I wonder if there is a possibility to run both games with debug versions of DirectX libraries. Should binaries be recompiled/linked with debug versions? Or not? Because when I change DirectX libraries to debug (I have DirectX SDK installed), games crashes:


General Info
------------
Application : Dark Horizon
Filename : dark_horizon.exe
Version : 1.0.8.0

Params : -FORCEVELOCITY -FPUEXCEPT
ParamCount : 2

System :
FPU State : pmExtended, rmNearest, exDenormalized, exUnderflow, exPrecision

Error Info
----------
ErrorText 0 : TLuaMachine.RunScript fault - script: data/Scripts/main.lua

Exception : Access violation at address 0048DACA in module 'dark_horizon.exe'. Write of address 00000000
EAddress : 0048DACA
ECode : -1073741819
EFlags : 2
EInfo (0) : 1
EInfo (1) : 0
GetLastError() : Operacja ukonczona pomyslnie.


LUA Debug
---------
Debug 2 : Source: @C:\Delphi\Tarr\Game_DH\Compiled\scripts\main.lua
: What: main
: NameWhat:
: LineDefined: 0
: CurrentLine: 281
Debug 1 : Source: @C:\Delphi\Tarr\Game_DH\Compiled\scripts\main.lua
: What: Lua
: Name: loadGameData
: NameWhat: global
: LineDefined: 182
: CurrentLine: 253
Debug 0 : Source: =[C]
: What: C
: Name: engine_ReloadFx
: NameWhat: global
: LineDefined: -1
: CurrentLine: -1

Despite of all of this and rough speed control now I have two working games more. Thanks again.
It would be nice to have working Cold Stars also... But I am patient :)

Regards, ixtern


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Hey Stucuk...
PostPosted: Sat Sep 22, 2012 2:30 pm 
Offline
OW Support Owner
OW Support Owner
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2005 11:13 pm
Posts: 5014
Location: UK, Scotland
Id imagine that its due to differences in the playvideo.dll , devmode forces the game to be in a window. I do have two versions of playvideo.dll's source code but its made in C++ and i have no clue if either work or which is the latest. You should be able to copy Tarr's one over, though i have no clue if it will make any difference (I don't have any problems).

Delphi just uses DLL's for DirectX. Its only with C++ that you can compile lib files into an application. Delphi has dpk files which are the same concept. I don't have a clue as to what the differences are between the release and debug versions. I don't use Direct X. It is possible that Debug versions would require a different header if the procedures/functions are different to the release version.

P.S 0048DACA points to a section of code which sets Vertex's in a DirectX Vertex Buffer Thingy(Don't know the proper name).

_________________
Image
Free Map Editor - Game Requirements - Stucuk.Net
-Stu


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 33 posts ]  Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3

All times are UTC [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group